In California, as well as federally, there are different laws regarding wage compensation that workers are entitled to receive for rendering their services to an employer. It is the responsibility and obligation of the company to adequately pay its employees and comply with what the law establishes according to minimum wages, overtime pay, among others.
Minimum wage in California
First, it is important to mention that as of 2023, the minimum wage in the state has increased to $15 dollars, so all those workers who were earning the previous minimum must receive an increase so that their salary is equal to or greater than the $15 dollars established as the minimum per hour regardless of the size of the company they are running.
Similarly, in the state, all people who work more than 8 hours during a day or work more than 40 hours during a week, must receive a payment for the overtime worked. After working more than 12 hours in a single day, they should receive double their pay for each extra hour worked, as well as pay equal to an hour and a half starting on the seventh day worked. However, the recommendation is that the working hours are not exceeded in this way, since it could cause a problem of stress or illness to your workers.
Paid and unpaid breaks
Finally, speaking of the breaks that your employer must provide you after working a certain period of time, they will be paid or not depending on the type of break we are referring to.
Lunch breaks, which must be 30 minutes after 5 hours worked, must not be paid. However, short 10-minute breaks after working 4 hours straight should count toward an employee’s pay and appear on their pay stub.
Seek legal help
If you suspect that your employer is not paying you the wages you should be receiving, please contact us. We can help fight for what belongs to you.